Fish & Chips

Sometimes, only fish and chips will do, but they’re not exactly the most low carb of foods! Time to get creative!

I found some skinless and boneless cod fillets on the reduced counter in Lidl, and grabbed a couple of turnips while I was there to make the chips with – while most root veg are waaaaaay too starchy for we ketonians, swede, turnips and celeriac are manageable.

First up, I peeled a turnip and cut in into chunky chips, and tossed it in 2 tbsp olive oil and a tsp sesame oil, with plenty of salt and black pepper. Into the oven for 45 minutes at 200C, turning halfway through.

While that was cooking, I cut my cod fillet into chunks that would fit in my pan, washed them in beaten egg and coated with 40g finely grated halloumi cheese (it’s brilliant, doesn’t melt when you cook it!). When the chips were almost done, I fried the coated fish until it was golden and cooked all the way through in a knob of butter and a splash of sesame oil to stop the butter burning. I cooked the asparagus in a second pan, just fried gently in some butter. When it was all cooked, I served it with a blob of mayonnaise flavoured with a little dill.

Husband and son tried it and reckon it was really rather good. I thoroughly enjoyed it 😊

Carbs 9g

Fat 84g

Protein 43g

As this was my only proper meal of the day, (other than a protein shake earlier), I needed to get all my fat and protein in, so don’t be alarmed!

MyFitnessPal data:

Leave a comment